Warrington has been announced as the host of stage three of the inaugural Women’s Tour of Britain.

Taking place from Thursday 6 June to Sunday 9 June 2024, the race will see the world’s top female riders and teams go head-to-head across four tough stages of racing, in what will be the first major international stage race delivered by British Cycling Events.

The route

The race will begin in Welshpool, situated in the heart of mid-Wales. The stage will see riders head north to the picturesque seaside town of Llandudno. Stage two will see riders stay in Wales for a start and finish in Wrexham, which also featured in the 2022 Women’s Tour. The rolling route will take in a series of challenging climbs in the dramatic Clwydian Range and Dee Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in Wales.

Stage 3 – Warrington

The caravan then will cross the Welsh border to the north-west of England, where Warrington will host both the start and finish of stage three on Saturday 8 June, with a flatter route that will favour the sprinters.

Warrington welcomed the men’s Tour of Britain in 2021, where Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) claimed a memorable stage win.

The race will conclude in Greater Manchester, as part of the city region’s European Capital of Cycling celebrations. Riders will depart from the National Cycling Centre, the home of British Cycling, before taking in some of the region’s challenging climbs before they reach the finish line in Leigh, where the race winner will be crowned.

Professor Steven Broomhead MBE, Warrington Borough Council Chief Executive, said: “Following the success of the men’s Tour of Britain stage finish in 2021, it’s great news that Warrington will host the pinnacle of the sport again, this time with both a start and finish for the Tour of Britain Women.

“We’re pleased to be playing our part in celebrating some of the world’s greatest cyclists, bringing elite sport back to Warrington once again. It will be a fantastic showcase that will equally generate societal, health and wellbeing benefits.”


The stages of the Women’s Tour will be:

  • Stage 1 – Thursday 6 June 2024: Welshpool to Llandudno
  • Stage 2 – Friday 7 June 2024: Wrexham
  • Stage 3 – Saturday 8 June 2024: Warrington 
  • Stage 4 – Sunday 9 June 2024: Greater Manchester


Jun 08 2024


11:00 am - 3:00 pm


Town Hall